Wooden Bridge

Jonathan Cohen (composer)
Piccolo, Flute 1, Flute 2, Flute 3, Alto Flute 1, ...
Score and Parts; Book with Insert
Special Price $13.20 Regular Price $22.00
In broad strokes, this piece describes the experience of emigration as remembered and reconciled a family. After an introduction, we hear the tenseness of a difficult life that grows more agitated and leads to leaving that life behind. We then hear the “march of time.” Following that is a period of reflection, as the old trials and adjusting to a new life are recalled, but considered and reconsidered, growing less painful and more light with each examination. A period of calm reflection follows, which goes from melancholy remembering to acceptance. Finally, a theme of pride is heard that develops into a triumphal celebration of the courage to leave an old life and to prosper in a new one. Scored for piccolo, 3 flutes, 2 alto flutes, bass flute, and optional contrabass, or for piccolo, 4 flutes, 1 alto, bass flute, and optional contrabass. Performance time: 8 minutes.
SKU: FH0306
Duration: 8:00
Commission Notice: Commissioned by the Woodbridge Flute Choir, Woodbridge, VA, with support from the Brannen-Cooper Fund
Publisher: Falls House Press
Delivery Method: Print
Product Type: Score and Parts
Page count: 48
Weight: 0.3 lbs.
UPC: 6-80160-55963-3
ISBN: 978-1-4911-0583-2
Copyright © 2021 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.