Robert Jager

  • Robert Jager was born in Binghamton, New York in 1939, and received his education at the University of Michigan. For four years he served in the United States Navy as the Staff Arranger at the Armed Forces School of Music. He joined the Tennessee Tech faculty in 1971 and recently retired as Professor of Music and Director of Composition and Theory.

    Mr. Jager has conducted and lectured throughout the United States, as well as in Canada, Europe, Japan and the Republic of China. He has over one hundred published works for band, chorus, orchestra, and various chamber combinations. His orchestral music has been performed by the National, Nashville, and Charlotte Symphony Orchestras among others. He has received commissions from all five Washington D.C.-based military bands, the Tokyo Kosei Wind Orchestra, and the Universities of Michigan, Arkansas, Illinois, Purdue and Nebraska Wesleyan.

    He is the recipient of numerous awards, including the Harvey Gaul Award, Phi Mu Alpha’s Orpheus Award, a Tennessee Arts Commission’s Individual Artist Fellowship, the Caplenor Faculty Research Award at Tennessee Tech, the American School Band Directors Association’s Volkwein Award, and a MacDowell Colony residency. He is the only three-time winner of the American Bandmasters Association’s Ostwald Award.

  • Cover Title (Subtitle) Duration Instrumentation
    Chamber Ensemble
    164-00127 Variations On A Motive By Wagner
    For Three Tubas
    Tuba Trio
    11026 Concerto grosso
    for Dance Band and Orchestra
    17:00 Orch.: 3 2 2 2 – 4 3 3 1; Timp. Perc. Str.; Dance Band: 2A.Sax. 2T.Sax. B.Sax. 4Tpt. 4Tbn. Pno. Cb. Traps
    Band / Wind Ensemble
    165-00056 Chorale & Toccata
    Piccolo, Flute 1, Flute 2, Oboe, Clarinet in Eb, Clarinet 1 in Bb, Clarinet 2 in Bb, Clarinet 3 in Bb, Bass Clarinet in Bb, Contra-alto Clarinet in Eb, Bassoon, Alto Saxophone 1 in Eb, Alto Saxophone 2 in Eb, Tenor Saxophone in Bb, Baritone Saxophone in Eb, Trumpet 1 in Bb, Trumpet 2 in Bb, Trumpet 3 in Bb, Horn 1 in F, Horn 2 in F, Horn 3 in F, Horn 4 in F, Trombone 1, Trombone 2, Trombone 3, Euphonium, Tuba, String Bass, Timpani, Mallet Percussion, Percussion
    165-00025 Sinfonia Nobilissima
    For Band
    6:30 Concert Band

  • Testament: The Music of Robert Jager TESTAMENT: THE MUSIC OF ROBERT JAGER
    Mark Masters (50782-MCD); May 27, 2014
    Performer(s): University of Texas at El Paso Symphonic Winds, conducted by Ron Hufstader
    Work(s): Chorale and Toccata

  • Of Things Remembered
    for String Orchestra