Douglas Hedwig: A Certain Slant of Light

…a powerful and dramatic work that makes full use of the colors available for brass quintet, percussion, and organ.

This tour-de-force for brass quintet is an outstanding addition to the brass quintet repertoire. All audiences will be moved by the formidable nature, as well as the interesting programmatic ties.

–Luis C. Engelke, ITG Journal

Douglas Hedwig: A Certain Slant of Light

…an impressive work in many ways, and it’s clear that he knows how to write for brass very effectively.

It’s the type of piece that is rewarding for both the players and the audience.

–The Horn Call

Lukas Foss: Renaissance Concerto

Using melodies and forms from Renaissance composers, Foss has constructed a true virtuoso work, morphing these older forms and tunes into much more modern styles, using just about every playing skill in the flutist’s vocabulary.

…a true classic for the instrument…

–Edward Alley,

Samuel Jones: Concerto for Violin and Orchestra

The Larghetto is a gorgeous essay on lyricism … The finale is a whirlwind, with passion intensely burning. The music itself is solidly constructed, accessible and exploits dissonance for dramatic effect… [it’s] clear that the piece is a winner for both violinist and composer.

–Tim Lindeman, News & Record

Jonathan Leshnoff: Chamber Concerto for Violin and Orchestra

Leshnoff’s heartfelt and generously communicative “Chamber Concerto for Violin and Orchestra” … was an enormously worthwhile two-part piece … [it] combined a freshness and crowd-pleasing consonance with unexpected turns of melodic and harmonic direction.

–Harvey Steiman, The Aspen Times