Symphony No. 1

Joseph Bologne (composer), Todd Parrish (arranger)


  • Violin 1
  • Violin 2
  • Viola
  • Cello
  • Contrabass


One of only two symphonies he composed during his time in France, Bologne’s Symphony No. 1 reflects the influence of his teachers and fellow composers in the burgeoning Classical period. This joyful Allegro features a spirited theme that is developed mainly in the violin section, supported by the lower strings. Originally scored for two oboes, two horns, and strings, this approachable arrangement for String Orchestra retains the original key while seamlessly blending the wind and string parts.
Ensemble: String Orchestra
Grade: 3
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Product Type: Score and Parts
UPC: 6-80160-91914-7
ISBN: 978-1-4911-6055-8
Copyright © 2024 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.