Author Archives: samuelp

Rogue Sparks

Duration: 6′
Orchestration: 3 3 3 3 – 4 3 3 1; Timp. 2Perc. Hp. Str.
Commission: Commissioned by the Rogue Valley Symphony for its 50th Anniversary Season.
Premiere: February 16, 17, and 18, 2018. The Rogue Valley Symphony, Martin Majkut, conductor; Ashland, Medford, and Grants Pass Oregon.

Composer Spotlight: Stacy Garrop

…a flair for vivid orchestration
and a taste for grand epic…

–Albany-Times Union
The music of STACY GARROP is born from the innate ability of a storyteller. Her rich vocabulary – both direct and poignant – wonderfully stretches the arc of any narrative. Be it bold ritualism or the silent desires of the heart, Garrop’s gift lies in her care for dramatic shape.
The urgency of Garrop’s music has not gone unnoticed. This year alone, Continue reading
National Flute Association Winners

Winners at the National Flute Association Composition Competition

Congratulations to all of Theodore Presser Company, Carl Fischer Music, and Affiliate Publishers winners at the National Flute Association’s 2016 Newly Published Music Competition.  Here is a list of our awards:


Flute and Piano

Winner: Amanda Harberg – Feathers and Wax

Winner: Emmanuel Pahud – Wer hat dies Liedel erdacht?

Finalist: Martin Amlin – Morceau de Concours

Finalist: Valarie Coleman – Wish

Finalist: Amanda Harberg – Poem and Transformations

Finalist: Gary Schocker – Wabi-Sabi

Finalist: Rahbari Fereshteh – Curtain Up!

Honorable Mention: Nicola Mazzanti – Sonata in C, K. 545

Honorable Mention: Adriana Isabel Figueroa Manas – Rhapsodia Andina

Honorable Mention: Henrik Wiese – Märchenbilder Op. 113


Solo Works

Finalist: Eric Ewazen – A Night in New Orleans

Finalist: Louis Moyse – Seven Caprices-Etudes for Flute and Piano

Honorable Mention: Anton Pfeiffer – Fantaisie sur Benyovszky, Op. 26


Flute Concerto

Winner: Ellen Taaffe Zwilich – Concerto Elegia

Finalist: Robert Stallman – The Magic Flutist, Volume II

Honorable Mention: Jonathan Leshnoff – Flute Concerto


Flute Methods

Winner: Chris Potter – Vibrato Workbook

Finalist: John Walker – The Flute in the Attic


Chamber Works for Flute

Finalist: Flutronix – Flock

Honorable Mention: Diego Collatti – Tango Flute Duets

Honorable Mention: Derek Charke – Raga Saat


Chamber Works for Flute and Other Instruments

Winner: Paula Robison, Edited by Frederic Hand  – La Serenata

Winner: Dan Welcher – Forest Devil Waltzes

Finalist: Gary Schocker – Sextet


Woodwind Quintet

Winner: Daniel Dorff – Cape May Breezes


Flute Choir

Finalist: Jonathan Cohen – She Flutters Me!

Stacy Garrop's Chariot of Helios

World Premiere: Stacy Garrop’s Chariot of Helios for Wind Ensemble

Stacy Garrop’s work for wind ensemble Chariot of Helios had its World Premiere on Wednesday, April 28th, 2016 by the Chicago College of the Performing Arts Wind Ensemble directed by Steven Squires. The piece is an arrangement of a 2011 brass quintet piece titled Helios commissioned by the Gaudete Brass Quintet. The commission is part of a larger four movement piece entitled Legends of Olympus. Three additional movements of the piece will be premiered in October by the Gaudete Brass Quintet as part of University of Chicago Professor of Composition Augusta Read Thomas’ Ear Taxi Festival.

Stacy Garrop was recently interviewed in The Chicago Maroon, highlighting her career as a woman composer and studying with fellow Theodore Presser Company composer Shulamit Ran.