Concerto Elegia

for Flute and String Orchestra


  • Flute
  • Piano


Zwilich's Concerto Elegia for flute and strings was commissioned by a consortium of 11 orchestras and premiered by flutist Trudy Kane at University of Miami's Frost School of Music. The work's three movements are titled Elegy, Soliloquy, and Epilogue, composed in memory of Zwilich's late husband Erik LaMont. "…a lyrical and rhapsodic rumination that exploits the solo instrument's colors and range. The opening thematic material is haunting, with the strings providing a rich and vibrant undercurrent to the flute's elegiac fragments." –- Lawrence Budmen, South Florida Classical Review
SKU: 144-40626
Duration: 16:00
Tempo: q = 48
Dedication: for Erik
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Product Type: Score and Parts
Accompanied: Accompanied Solo
Page count: 16
Weight: 0.2 lbs.
UPC: 6-80160-62693-9
ISBN: 978-1-4911-0056-1
I. Elegy
II. Soliloquy
III. Epilogue
Copyright © 2021 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.