Forging Steel

for Orchestra (Quadruple Winds and Brass Version)

Stacy Garrop (composer)
Flute 1, Flute 2, Flute 3 (Piccolo 1), Flute 4 (Pi...
Custom Print


Made available from composer's original edition
Commissioned by the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, Forging Steel portrays two key components of the steelmaking process over two movements. The first, “Blast Furnace,” focuses on the combining of and refining of raw ore, coke (crushed coal), and limestone, while the second, “Billets and Blooms,” depicts the shaping of the steel and its movement through the final stages of production. For the version with triple winds and brass, see 116-42181.
SKU: 116-42144S
Ensemble: Full Orchestra
Duration: 11:00
Commission Notice: Forging Steel was commissioned by the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra. The work was premiered in Heinz Hall on June 9, 2023, conducted by Manfred Honeck.
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Score Type: Study Score
Product Type: Score
Page count: 64
UPC: 6-80160-69200-2
Copyright © 2024 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.