Forging Steel

for Full Orchestra

Stacy Garrop (composer)
Flute 1, Flute 2, Flute 3 (Piccolo 1), Flute 4 (Pi...
Score and Parts
Available on Rental
Commissioned by the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, Forging Steel portrays two key components of the steelmaking process over two movements. The first, “Blast Furnace,” focuses on the combining of and refining of raw ore, coke (crushed coal), and limestone, while the second, “Billets and Blooms,” depicts the shaping of the steel and its movement through the final stages of production. Version of the work for triple winds will be available in spring 2024.
SKU: 116-42144
Ensemble: Full Orchestra
Duration: 11:00
Commission Notice: Forging Steel was commissioned by the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra. The work was premiered in Heinz Hall on June 9, 2023, conducted by Manfred Honeck.
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Delivery Method: Print
Product Type: Score and Parts
I. Blast Furnace
II. Billets and Blooms
Copyright © 2022 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.