Concerto for Flute and Harp

Stewart Grant (composer)
Solo Flute, Solo Harp, Flute 1, Flute 2, Oboe, Eng...
Score and Parts
Available on Rental
The Concerto for Flute and Harp was commissioned by the Montreal Symphony Orchestra as part of the MusicCanadaMusique 2000 Festival. It is in the standard three movement form of a classical concerto, with the solo harp and flute setting a rhapsodic tone at the very outset and the orchestra gradually joining in to build to an initial climax. The harp presents the second principal theme, which is lyrical in character, and there then ensues a lengthy section based on a faster, syncopated melody that is first heard in the solo trombone. This builds to a considerable climax that brings us back to thematic material from the first section of the piece. The lyrical second theme restores a sense of tranquillity and the first movement ends quietly as the harp and flute return to the atmosphere of the very opening. The second movement opens with a broad, sustained theme in the strings which is taken up by the harp in an elaborate variation that culminates in a solo cadenza. The solo flute makes his entrance in a kind of pastorale in dialogue with the orchestral winds. He then presents his variation of the opening theme, accompanied by the harp and strings, followed by a solo cadenza that leads directly into the Finale. This is a lively rondo that alternates a rather jazzy theme in the irregular meter of 7/8 with references to materials from the previous movements. It culminates in a final orchestral version of the rondo theme and a coda in which rapid triplets in the flute and harp are punctuated by shots from the full orchestra
SKU: 116-41745
Ensemble: Full Orchestra Double Concerto
Duration: 2:17
Commission Notice: Commissioned by l'Orchestre symphonique de Montréal Charles Dutoit, Artistic Director for Timothy Hutchins & Jennifer Swartz through the generosity of MusicCanadaMusique 2000 and the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Delivery Method: Print
Product Type: Score and Parts
Accompanied: Concerto
Copyright © 2024 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.