for String Orchestra

Behzad Ranjbaran (composer)


  • Violin 1
  • Violin 2
  • Viola
  • Violoncello
  • Contrabass


Preserving the sanctity of peace is a common desire of all humanity. It is hard to understand why humans at times are drawn to war, when prosperity and happiness can be gained by peace. It is so fitting to celebrate peace with music, an inclusive art form that transcends time, cultures and generations. Awakening was composed as a reflection on war and peace. It is one continuous movement with three interconnected sections: Andante con fuoco, Largo spirituali and Andante con fuoco. The melodic and harmonic basis of Awakening is a short motive, heard at the outset of the piece and is continuously varied and transformed as the work progresses. The agitated first section is followed by a meditative and contemplative middle section (largo spirituali). The final section shares many characteristics of the first section but with a sense of optimism that brings the piece to an energetic finale.
SKU: 116-40190
Ensemble: String Orchestra
Duration: 13:00
Tempo: Andante con fuoco (q. = 80)
Dedication: for Hyo Kang
Commission Notice: Commissioned by the International Sejong Soloists and the Great Mountain Music Festival in South Korea
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Delivery Method: Print
Product Type: Score and Parts
Copyright © 2022 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.