Phoenix Rising

for solo Violin

Stacy Garrop (composer)


  • Violin


Legends of the phoenix are found in stories from ancient Egypt and Greece. While each culture possesses a range of stories encompassing the myth, these tales tend toward similar traits: a sacred bird with brilliantly colored plumage and melodious call lives for typically 500 years, then dies in a nest of embers, only to be reborn among the flames. Phoenix Rising consists of two movements: I. Dying in Embers represents an old phoenix settling on top of a pile of embers and breathing its last breath; II. Reborn in Flames depicts the newly-born phoenix getting its first taste of flight.
SKU: 114-42226
Duration: 00:09:00
Dedication: Violin version dedicated to Holly Mulcahy
Commission Notice: Commissioned by Christopher Creviston
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Page count: 12
Weight: 0.167 lbs.
UPC: 6-80160-68335-2
ISBN: 978-1-4911-3386-6
I. Dying in Embers
II. Reborn in Flames
Copyright © 2021 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.