(Impressions On 'The True Story Of Ah Q')

Chen Yi (composer), Jeffrey Heisler (transcriber)


  • Alto Saxophone in E
    • Tenor Saxophone in B
Special Price $3.00 Regular Price $5.99
Jeffrey Heisler has worked with composer luminaries, such as Ellen Zwilich, Morton Subotnick, Steve Reich, and Louis Andriessen, transcribing their works for saxophone. Now he brings Chen Yi's often-performed Monologue for unaccompanied clarinet to the saxophonist's repertoire. "Chen Yi's haunting Monologue packs a multiplicity of voluminous ideas into a small package. It might seem unlikely that she could distill her impressions of a true story by writer Lu Xun into a mere four minutes, but she does so with consummate skill and idiomatic use of the instrument." (Michael Cameron, Fanfare) For advanced performers. Dur.: 5'
SKU: 114-41561
Duration: 5:00
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Delivery Method: Print
Accompanied: Unaccompanied Solo
Weight: 0.05 lbs.
UPC: 6-80160-61143-0
ISBN: 978-1-59806-450-6
Copyright © 2021 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.