James Matheson (composer)


  • Piano


Matheson’s five-movement work is a setting of stained glass windows created by Marc Chagall and Henri Matisse for a rustic country church adjoining the Rockefeller estate near Sleepy Hollow on the Hudson River. Matheson’s suite draws from four Chagall windows: 1. Jeremiah, 2. Isaiah, 3. Crucifixion, 4. The Good Samaritan, and culminates with Matisse’s 5. The Rose.
SKU: 110-41814
Duration: 25:00
Dedication: written for Bruce Levingston
Commission Notice: Commissioned by Premiere Commission, Inc.
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Page count: 24
Weight: 0.25 lbs.
UPC: 6-80160-64037-9
ISBN: 978-1-4911-2943-2
1. Jeremiah
2. Isaiah
3. Crucifixion
4. The Good Samaritan
5. The Rose
Copyright © 2021 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.