Three Madrigals

Orlando Di Lasso

Arranged by John Davis
Performing Ensemble: Flute Quartet
Instrumentation: 2 C Flutes, Alto Flute, Bass Flute / C Flute
Item Number: FH0093
Publisher: Falls House Press
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

This arrangement of three popular madrigals (I. Ah Could My Eyes Behold Thee II. O Lady Fair III. I Know a Young Maiden) by the Renaissance Italian composer Orlando di Lasso is a delightful addition to any flute ensemble program. Exemplifying the transition between late renaissance and early baroque musical styles, these madrigals combine forward-looking homophonic textures with 16th century harmonies and cadence figures. Scored for either 2 C flutes, alto & bass or 3 C flutes & alto, "Three Madrigals" can be performed by ensembles ranging from flute quartet to flute choir. Alternate parts for alto and bass flute are included.


Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

Additional Information

Arranger Davis, John