The River That Mines The Silences Of Stones

An Adagio For Wind Ensemble

Samuel Adler

Set of Parts
Performing Ensemble: Wind Ensemble
Instrumentation: Piccolo, 2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, Clarinet in Eb, 2 Clarinets in Bb, Bass Clarinet, 3 Bassoons, Contrabassoon, 2 Alto Saxophones, 1 Tenor Saxophone, 3 Trumpets in C, 3 Horns in F, 3 Trombones, Euphonium, Tuba, Double Bass, Timpani, 1 Percussion
Item Number: 115-40225M
Number of Pages: 108
Duration: :10:00
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: Custom Print, 4-5 days


Quick Overview

Since Adler wrote his Southwestern Sketches in 1961, he has added more than 16 works to the wind ensemble literature, including commissions from Michigan University, the city of Mannheim, Germany, the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, the U.S. Air Force Band, and the U.S. Marine Band, among others. This new single-movement Adagio for Wind Ensemble was commissioned by eleven universities and uses a Rainer Maria Rilke poem as a basis.


Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

  • 115-40225M

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by: Bowling Green State University, Bruce Moss Indiana University, Steve Pratt Michigan State University, Kevin Sedatole Oakland University, Gregory Cunningham University of Houston, David Bertman University of Iowa, Marc Heidel Unive...
Duration 10:00