Symphony No. 3

Daniel Asia

Publisher: Merion Music, Inc.
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

Symphony No. 3 is in three movements, with a total duration of approximately 40?. It is for a very large orchestra, with winds in fours, six horns, or brass in fours. It also employs two harps and piano.

The first movement opens with a simple theme, which serves as the basis of the entire work. It is briefly developed in an almost chorale -like manner in this brief introduction. The main body of this movement is then introduced in a faster tempo. It presents the opening tune almost as a cantus firmus surrounded by increasingly florid accompaniment. Other sections intervene, with various variations on this primary theme. The movement grows in energy from beginning to end, and concludes in an almost semi-chaotic state.

The second movement is a slow movement, an adagio. It is simple and direct. It includes reflections of the first movement, but these always lapse back to the slower tempo and primary music of the movement. The movement has a certain nostalgic and elegiac quality to it.

The last movement is a presto, full of angular corners and turns. Motives from the first movement are brought back, albeit in different form. The underlying sense is one of spunkiness, boundless energy, virtuosity, and references to vernacular music (pop and jazz).

Available on Rental

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by the Phoenix Symphony/Meet the Composer, Inc.
Composition Date 1992
Duration 00:40:00
Orchestration 4 4 4 4 - 6 4 3 1; Timp. 4Perc. Pno.(Cel.) 2Hp. Str.
Premiere May 6, 1993, Phoenix Symphony, James Sedares, Music Director and Conductor.

Score Preview