Daniel Asia

Publisher: Merion Music, Inc.
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

"Gateways" was begun in the middle of May 1993, and finished on July 13, 1993. The work, a fanfare-like piece, is kaleidoscopic an mercurial in nature. It rapidly moves back and forth between sections of strong contrast. At the same time, all of the musical materials are somewhat light-hearted in character, as befits a fanfare. There is also liberal use of a fanfare?s traditional rhythmic motive, namely an eighth note and two sixteenth notes, albeit used in often curious and humorous permutations. And of course the brass and percussion play a prominent role. The work is dedicated to the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra and its music director Jes

Available on Rental

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra in honor of their 100th season.
Composition Date 1993
Duration 00:05:00
Orchestration 4(Picc. A.Fl.) 4(E.H.) 4(EbCl. B.Cl.) 4(Cbsn.) - 4 4 3 1; Timp. 3Perc. Pno. Str.
Premiere October 7, 1994. Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, Hermann Michael, conductor.

Score Preview