Flight Of Icarus

For Saxophone Quartet

Stacy Garrop

Full Score - Study
Performing Ensemble: Saxophone Quartet
Instrumentation: Soprano Saxophone, Alto Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone, Baritone Saxophone
Item Number: 114-41723S
Number of Pages: 28
Duration: 0:14:00
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: Custom Print, 4-5 days


Quick Overview

One of Garrop's early compositions was a saxophone quartet, naturally enough, as she was then a high school saxophone player. When commissioned by the Capitol Quartet, Garrop thought to recapture the sense of "soaring" that was evidenced in that earlier work, and found herself contemplating the story of Daedalus and Icarus. "The two-movement work is a series of piquant and brooding episodes portraying Icarus' tragic voyage and the sorrowful aftermath. The ensemble gave Garrop's alluring brainstorm a performance of riveting intensity." (Donald Rosenberg, The Plain Dealer)


Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

  • 114-41723S
  • 114-41723S

Scores & Parts

Flight Of Icarus - Score and Part(s)
Flight Of Icarus - Set of Parts

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by the Margot Music Fund and the Capitol Quartet Christopher Creviston - soprano saxophone, Joseph Lulloff - alto saxophone, David Stambler - tenor saxophone, Andrew Dahlke - baritone saxophone
Composition Date 2012
Duration 14'


I. Icarus Ascending
II. Daedalus Mourns